Gloucester Harbormaster


Dock
Not Offered

Mooring
$40

Day Trip
Not Offered
19 Harbor Loop
Gloucester, MA 01930
Check-in after 01:00 PM
Check-out before 11:00 AM
VHF 14
Out of Season
Gloucester Harbormaster is closed for the season. Gloucester Harbormaster will start accepting reservations for the upcoming season on 04/01/2019 at 8:00am EDT.
Marinas dark
54 Reviews

by bunkyreed on Oct 11, 2018

First, Gloucester is wonderful harbor and is very well protected. Before the trip I called the Harbormaster and confirmed the launch service was running on Columbus Day and that moorings would be available. He was very informative especially since it was our first time sailing into Gloucester. When we arrived, we had an Inner Harbor mooring as requested and by radio he directed us right to #8. Perfect. Only wish we had an extra day up there. Definitely will be a repeat visit. Thanks!


by shiook on Sep 30, 2018

Great place. Good launch service.


by laurelaford on Sep 24, 2018

The Gloucester Harbormaster was very accommodating. We made our reservation late and wanted a specific mooring. Very friendly and helpful.


by cruisingcarol on Sep 22, 2018

Very difficult to reach harbormaster by radio and/or phone. Two attempts to extend our reservation via the Dockwa edit function (as instructed by the harbormaster) were never received and we were forced to leave our mooring. Thankfully the wind has turned otherwise this would not only have been very inconvenient but downright unpleasant.

Marina Response:
We are very sorry for this . We had a fair amount of technical problems in our office this weekend phone lines down and internet . I would like to offer you a free mooring services next time you visit our port . You can contact me directly [email protected]

by thachpham on Sep 16, 2018

Nice Mooring at Niles Beach


by brendamiccio on Sep 09, 2018

Very good. Harbormaster staff was excellent


by pemisu12 on Sep 09, 2018

Good mooring in inner harbor. Excellent service.


by lestr on Sep 06, 2018

Gloucester is always a great town to visit. Having launch service is a great addition and has us visiting more often that in the past years.

This year they have added pick up buoys on the mooring pennants making the process much easier.

Gloucester just keeps getting better.


by hondo79 on Sep 03, 2018

Great weekend, Harbormaster staff was friendly and get help from the launch operators to the HM. Always enjoy our visits to Gloucester.


by isabella on Aug 28, 2018

Third time morning in Gloucester. Better every year. Moorings well marked with pickup masts, launch service included and prompt and will take you anywhere in the harbor Restaurants and services short walk from landing.


by jamesforsyth01 on Aug 25, 2018

Nice mooring, the harbor master answered right away and directed us to the mooring. The launch service was excellent. Good restraunts.


by jgermenis on Aug 19, 2018

Very friendly and helpful staff. Dinner at Gloucester House was excellent. Do sit inside.


by masterboater on Aug 14, 2018

WOW what a place . Harbormaster and Deputy Harbormaster are amazing . This is a Must Stop if you are transiting the East Coast . Whoever Gave a one star review is a moron


by chiefboats on Aug 14, 2018

Great Harbor the Harbormasters office is very helpful and the launch is a great service that is included with your stay the drivers are very helpful with area knowledge. I will be back


by hmscarth on Aug 12, 2018

We spent the first afternoon and night on mooring #1 in the Ten Pound Island group. The wash from the traffic was terrible. My camera rolled off a setee. My wife was seasick. We went to shore for a while. The wash didn't settle down until late. We arranged with the harbor master to move to the inner harbor for our second night, mooring #4. It was much better. The harbor launch was OK but busy. Be sure to tell the operator which group of moorings you are in. There is more than one #1, etc.

Marina Response:
We are sorry to hear you had a bad stay . I'm glad our team accommodated you on your second night . Unfortunate you were here on a very busy weekend. Please remember this is a working harbor. We hope you come back and give us another try

by ejjawhite on Aug 11, 2018

We were real happy with the professionalism and treatment received by the Harbormaster and launch drivers. While there we were able to extend our stay by 2 days. There’s lots to see and do in Gloucester/Cape Ann, and we plan on returning, hopefully with another couple of boats to accompany us.


by windless on Aug 10, 2018

Tom the harbor master and team are always terrific. On a packed holiday weekend with high winds we were accomodated. We pass this way many times a season from Cape Cod to Maine and the team is always great. Al Santoro


by lindabunce on Aug 05, 2018

Cape Ann Marina was great. We got lucky and they were able to accommodate us at the last minute for the weekend. We had Patton assist us with our slip, two weekends in a row and he was very professional and great to work with. Thank you..


by haighrw1 on Aug 02, 2018

Always a great location to stay at.


by sparetime on Aug 02, 2018

Launch delivered directly to a restaurant dock and picked us up when we were ready to go back to the boat


by fhmorrisbvp on Jul 30, 2018

great location off park, solid mooring.


by jeffkmac on Jul 22, 2018

Excellent mooring field - great launch service but moorings are extremely difficult to identify. The numbers are etched on top of the mooring that you cannot read until you are practically on top of it.


by risailorgirl on Jul 22, 2018

We stayed in Smith Cove on a very secure mooring. The Harbormaster and staff we very friendly, gave us a welcome package and answered any question we had. They even offer boatside pumpout service. Downtown was very nice to stroll through and the harbor is beautiful! We can’t wait to come back!


by bstaymore on Jul 22, 2018

Nice mooring. Good launch service. N wakes on the inner harbor.


by sdecoste63 on Jul 19, 2018

The harbormaster put the SC2 mooring in the path of the local fisherman as they came within 2 to 3 feet of our boat on a consistent basis to make it uncomfortable 24x7. The Harbormaster needs to either move the mooring or get the locals to stop buzzing the SC2 mooring.


by cdavispearce on Jul 16, 2018

Gloucester is a great, friendly place to stay. Good access to wonderful restraints,museums and shopping within walking distance. Excellent launch device and hours at a reasonable price


by dianab54 on Jul 15, 2018

Excellent Harbor, extremely responsive harbormaster. Only things I would like to see are an online mooring map (it was difficult to locate our mooring), also it would be awesome if there were shower facilities available.


by jkrusas on Jul 12, 2018

We stayed on a mooring. It was very pleasnt. Thank You!

Marina Response:
Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again !!

by tedestep on Jul 12, 2018

Stayed in inter harbor. Traffic was not bad. Launch service was great. Morrings are solid and well serviced. Very nice place will stop again.


by georgem on Jul 10, 2018

One of our favorite harbors . Arrived just after noon,, our Mooring was ready to go , we tied up , no issues. We checked in with the harbormaster and then called the launch for a ride into town.....everyone was friendly and asked if they help with suggestions of where to go etc. great place to stop for a couple of days .


by rstrick1901 on Jul 10, 2018

We really had a good time. The harbormaster and crew were helpful and the town is awesome. Had the best dinner at the Seaport Grill and enjoyed walking the town.


by skimmer352 on Jul 07, 2018

Harbormaster was wonderful, very helpful. It was choppy due to weather, we were in puter harbor and did fine.


by poconnor2 on Jul 03, 2018

It was very uncomfortable at Stage mooring in Gloucester. At one point I thought the dinghy was going to land in the cockpit. The harbormaster told us about the launch service but never mentioned that the boat was going to rock nonstop.


by gagnon79 on Jul 03, 2018

nice but lot of boat traffic rock rock rock

Marina Response:
Unfortunately this past weekend was fiesta here in Gloucester our busiest weekend of the year concerning boat traffic. Hope to see you again in our port ... Regards

by packs6 on Jul 02, 2018

The Gloucester crew are super nice guys - there to help in any way. Great tender service too!


by gloucesterharbormaster on Oct 19, 2017

by stephaniebeermann on Oct 18, 2017

Gloucester Harbor was great with good amenities and fun waterfront restaurants. The harbormaster upgrades our mooring due to a cancellation which was awesome and appreciated!


by ramelet on Aug 28, 2017

No Showers but free launch


by vicki on Aug 28, 2017

We would have given it a five but we got stuck Saturday night at 9:30 pm and could not get back to our boat as the launch driver took off early. This was a huge problem - otherwise the service was very good and the moorings were very well maintained. Getting stuck though at 9:30 pm without a way to get back to your boat is a HUGE PROBLEM!


by billt on Aug 12, 2017

Super launch service. Cute town and good restaurants. We will be back.


by scottnbpt on Aug 08, 2017

The shuttle service was quick and reliable the shuttle captains could not be any more pleasant and helpful. Looking forward to a return visit.


by patriot on Aug 04, 2017

We rented a mooring two nights so far this season on our trip to Maine using Dockwa. I like how the reservation confirmation includes providing a mooring number. It would be a little better if there was a better way of showing where the moorings are located and how to identify them. On our second visit (July 22), I figured mooring TP-3 was located in the Ten Pound mooring area. When arriving in the area, I had to ask another boater which moorings belonged to the city.

It turned out that they were orange and all were taken. I called the Harbormaster and received a prompt response. The person on duty was very helpful and courteous. Unfortunately, he had to move another boater who was confused on where his mooring was located. The other boat moved to another mooring field and we were all set, until the next morning.

There was a lobster pot located near our assigned mooring. The next morning, with the change in tide, current and wind, our boat drifted over the pot and I could not see it. We caught the line to the pot’s float on our rudder and ended up having to cut the line. The boat was freed but I did not see the float until later.

When operating my boat, I take particular care in avoiding lobster pots. They are someone’s livelihood and I respect that. Unfortunately, in this case, the person who place the pot in the middle of a mooring field, did not appear very concerned about respecting other boats. It took some doing to totally free the line from my rudder and I ended up having to dive on my boat.

Perhaps it is within the Harbormaster’s authority to ensure that lobster pots are not placed within a mooring field. It is difficult for a boat to avoid them in this situation.


by markjyoung on Jul 31, 2017

It was very nice staying in the inner harbor in Gloucester. It is well protected from the weather and now that they have a launch to get back and forth from the dock, a dingy is not required. It would be ideal if they had shower facilities.


by will40 on Jul 25, 2017

Stayed on mooring SC 2 for two nights. Very helpful and friendly harbor master and launch boat captain. Will go back again.


by mihajlv on Jul 24, 2017

Excellent.


by alwiner1 on Jul 18, 2017

The harbor masters are so friendly and the launch is a great addition. People are always being treated first class


by ria on Jul 17, 2017

First rate moorings & terrific launch service to multiple points in Town. The launch operators are true professionals - courteous, friendly, knowledgable and true advocates of Gloucester. We are too. Great harbor, wonderful vessel watching, variety of restaurants & shops. Gloucester and Harbormaster are 1st rate. "Way To Go" will be back!


by hmsindy on Jul 10, 2017

Great mooring in the inner harbor. Very industrial though and a little noisy. Would go back.


by tfin on Jul 07, 2017

We have been here before. Now launch service is included. That makes it easy to get ashore with laundry. Laundromat is not far from launch landing. The weather on this stay was the best ever. We must return and explore the wonders of Gloucester.


by jtdunn21n on Jul 07, 2017

Very basic amenities but easy ocean access and inner harbor mooring allow quick downtown access also. Launch service is included however they service the entire harbor which is large so plan ahead.


by jackt323 on Jul 06, 2017

It was a very quiet stay.Not much going on after the fireworks.I guess I was expecting more festivities for July 4th week.


by mzimet73 on Jun 26, 2017

A wonderful visit in a beautiful city. Unfortunately, we were there at a very busy time so our mooring was pretty far out in the Southeast Harbor. Great mooring and wonderful launch service! We will be back soon.


by cgklinck892 on Jun 10, 2017

Very informative launch captains. Prompt service. Enjoyed the town of Gloucester very much. Found the people to be very receptive. The mooring was in great shape and it was comfortable in the harbor. Definitely, you will see us again. Thanks


by nanbl55 on May 22, 2017

Great place to stay and the harbormaster is so nice

About Gloucester Harbormaster

The City of Gloucester, through the harbormaster's office, rents 30 transient / visitor moorings for vessels up to 60 feet. They are located in the following three areas:

-The Inner Harbor, where the day-to-day hustle and bustle of a working waterfront can be enjoyed, is in close proximity to downtown shops and restaurants.

-The Southeast Harbor offers views of the mansions of Eastern Point, sunsets over the Western Harbor and the Boston skyline in the distance.

-The Western Harbor, off of Stage Head, is where the original settlers landed and dried fish. The harbor offers a beautiful view of downtown church steeples and the City Hall tower.

The Gloucester Harbor Launch is free of charge with your reservation and can be contacted on VHF channel 72 or by phone - 978-726-0155


Booking Info

Pleas Note: Our launch only runs from Memorial Day to October 1st


Amenities

  • Floating Docks
  • Ice
  • Launch Ramp
  • Launch Service
  • Maintenance Facilities
  • Medical Facilities w/in 5 Miles
  • Pumpout
  • Wireless Internet

Info


Photos

Gloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester HarbormasterGloucester Harbormaster